The Perfect Life

Ever feel like you will “be happy” once you attain a certain goal? Whether that be getting married, losing weight, making more money, whatever. I believe that many of us think this way. For me, it was always, “When we move out of Kansas” or “when Cory gets weekends off and we can spend more time together”.

Oh, the elusive “perfect life.”

Those two things have both happened over the last year and while they have both been extremely fulfilling, our life is still not “perfect.” Don’t get me wrong, I truly love my life, I’ve just begun to let go of the illusion of perfection.

What I’ve been realizing is that no one has a perfect life. Sure, it may look flawless on the outside, but underneath the surface there is stuff that we can’t see.

This year has been full of highs and lows for us. It’s been rewarding, scary, amazing and confusing. For me, I’ve been doing a lot of soul searching and asking myself questions like, “What am I here for?” and “What I am meant to do with this life that I’ve been given?”

I’ve learned that sometimes the best laid plans don’t always fulfill you like you thought they would. And that life is not meant to be planned out meticulously, but it is to be appreciated, savored and lived. There is a lesson in each situation and it’s our job to figure out what that is, while keeping ourselves open to unknown opportunities to come.

So the conclusion I’ve come to? Life is messy and it is beautiful. Most importantly, life is what we make it. We can choose to be joyful and thankful, whether we are in a palace or a prison. Our happiness in life is truly up to each one of us. And life is perfectly imperfect, just the way it is.

Leave a Reply

