Punta Cana Vacay

We got back from our girls’ trip to the Dominican Republic late Sunday evening and it was truly JUST what I needed. More on that later. 
Almost nothing gives me more pleasure than visiting new-to-me destinations, and I was even more thrilled to be accompanying Alex on her first international trek. When we landed in Punta Cana after a 5.5 hour direct flight from Denver, a smile spread across my face upon seeing the palm trees and turquoise of the ocean. Eight days of tropical vacay awaited us!

Of course, they seemed to fly by. We spent the first three days immersing ourselves in the Dominican way of life: slow & relaxed, no worries and no schedule. We lounged around Erin’s adorable apartment, went to the local beach for lunch, reading and relaxation and enjoyed a sushi dinner.

We walked to breakfast at a Internet cafe by her house one morning and had a delicious pasta and vino dinner at an Italian restaurant near by another night.

We spent a day at the resort that Erin & her husband, Stefan got married at, complete with a Foam Party.

Then we checked into our resort for the remaining five days of our stay. The air-conditioning felt amazing, as did the hot showers & big, plush hotel beds. We blacked out our room with the curtains and slept in every morning.

Our days were spent alternating between the beach and pools, occasionally wandering over to the swim up bar to order a piña colada or dirty monkey. We floated in the ocean and lounged on the pool beds.

We spent one morning getting pampered at the spa.

I read three books. We basically did a whole lot of nothing. Ahhh…it was relaxing. 

We did spent one afternoon snorkeling, a first for Alex & I (you know I’m addicted to firsts), which was really fun. It felt a little challenging at first, but once I got the breathing down, it was peaceful to just float w/my face in the water, kick my flippers and watch all of the pretty fish.

Overall, it was a really great trip and I’m happy to have the Dominican Republic checked off of my “Places to Travel” list!

Leave a Reply

