Play

I have been inspired. 
Let me start out by giving you some background…
Cory started a new (and exciting!) job on Monday & therefore a new routine began in our household. He now goes to work early (between 6-7 a.m.), which makes it easy for me to get up w/him & hit the gym. Hallelujah! 
So after the earliest cycle class I have probably ever been to (beginning at at 5:15 a.m.), I came home to make myself a healthy breakfast of Greek yogurt, blueberries & almonds. Sitting down to eat, I opened up my daily devotional, Jesus Calling. Below was the beginning of the day’s message:
“Learn to laugh at yourself more freely. Don’t take yourself or your circumstances so seriously. Relax and know that I am God with you. When you desire My will above all else, life becomes much less threatening. Stop trying to monitor my responsibilities – things that are beyond your control. Find freedom by accepting the boundaries of your domain.”
This really hit home with me because I can be a pretty deep & serious person at times. I love to overanalyze life & plan it all out. So how freeing is it to know that it is my duty in life to be light-hearted and playful? What an amazing blessing. 
Therefore, my latest to do list looks like this:
Don’t take life so seriously.
Find the fun & good in everything & everyone.
Laugh. A lot.
Dido for smiling.
Stay in the moment – stop continually analyzing the past & anticipating the future.
Be happy. 
“Life must be lived as play.” – Plato
And you can count me in.
2 thoughts on “Play

Leave a Reply

