"Our Song"

*Note to the reader: This post is a tad bit sappy. Read with caution.
Do you and your partner have a song that you identify as “yours?” It’s a silly trend that started (for me) way back in middle school, but sort of stuck.
The other evening while we were cooking dinner we had the Pandora blasting, as usual and “our song” came on. It wasn’t the song that we danced to at our reception or even one that was being sung during our ceremony, it was one that we had chosen on a desserted dirt road, late one Friday night in high school.
Side note – Mom, yes, that was probably one of the nights I came home pasted my curfew. But it all worked out, right?

When “our song” came on the other night I had to smile a little because I realized that the words were so so much truer today than they were back then. And that, my friends, is a sweet feeling.
It’s Your Love (by Tim McGraw & Faith Hill)
Dancing in the dark

Middle of the night

Taking your heart

Holding it tight

Emotional touch

Touching my skin

Askin’ you to do

What you’ve been doing 

All over again

Oh, it’s a beautiful thing

Don’t think I can keep it all in

I’ve just gotta let you know

What it is that won’t let me go


It’s your love

Just does something to me

Sends a spark right through me

I can’t get enough

And if you wonder

‘Bout the spell I’m under

It’s your love


Better than I was

More than I am

All of that happened

By taking your hand

Who I am now

Is who I’ve wanted to be

Now that we’re together

Stronger than ever, happy and free

Oh, it’s a beautiful thing

Don’t think I can keep it all in

And if you ask me why I’ll change

All I gotta do is say your sweet name


It’s your love

Just does something to me

Sends a shock right through me

Can’t get enough

And if you wonder

‘Bout the spell I’m under

It’s your love

Leave a Reply

