A Mom Update

As many of you know, my mom was diagnosed with breast cancer in November. If you didn’t know,  you can read about it here
Since the confirmation of the diagnosis, she’s been to a couple more doctor’s appointments & scheduled her first surgery to remove the tumors, all while debating what type of surgery to select. For those new to breast cancer like we are, it was surprising to find that there are quite a few surgical options & choices to make. 
At one of the doctor’s appointment another lump was found in the same breast. After testing it was confirmed to be malignant as well, which made her surgery choice more clear. She’s opted to have a double mastectomy & her first of three surgeries is tomorrow around noon.  
My sweet sister has taken charge of organizing a “menu plan” for those that would like to help out. Check her Facebook for details. I’ll be back home to visit/help out next week & will keep you all posted on her recovery.

Tonight my sister, mom & her two best friends from high school are having a “cleaning party” to get the house ready for her to come home & rest up in for the next two weeks. Since I couldn’t be there to help clean (darn, I LOVE cleaning), I FaceTimed in & discovered why 45 year olds get a bad reputation when it comes to their technology knowledge.

Me: Mom, you’re upside down.
Mom: What?

Me: YOU’RE UPSIDE DOWN.
Mom: No, I’m not!

Morgan: Mom, we’re upside down.
Mom: Oh.

Please keep my gorgeous Momma in your prayers tonight & tomorrow. My sister & grandma could probably use a prayer too, as they will be helping to take care of her immediately following surgery.
Thank you!
3 thoughts on “A Mom Update

  1. Fantastic idea — the blog. Thank you for keeping us in the loop. –From another “old” friend who actually dates back to knowing your mother dear since grade school. Staci Roberts Beam xox

  2. Thank you Audra for keeping us informed. I've known your Mom forever it seems. Since Jr high at least. She is one of those friends to me that no matter what the distance and the time we can always get back together and instantly catch up. I would do anything for her. Please let me know if there is anything I can do. I love her and all you guys. Angie

Leave a Reply

