20 Days

We are now 20 days out from our big move. The last 10 days have gone by so fast. Here’s what they have looked like:
I was sick for four days. Yuck.

So I tried to nurse myself back to health with Cory’s delicious chicken noodle soup. Leon (my parent’s dog) wanted in on that action too.

Then I tried to suffer through a work day, with the help of DayQuil.

And then I just gave up & laid in bed all day. With Natty on top of me, naturally.
Luckily I started feeling better, just in time to watch two of our friends GET ENGAGED!
Then next morning Alex & I cheered on Cory as he ran the 4 mile Jingle Bell Run. His time was 30.38 & he got 77th place out of 818 4 mile runners. There he is, the second in yellow, approaching the Finish line.
Obviously we had to celebrate this with a delicious brunch at Copper Oven, an Indian Hills fav.
We spent the afternoon loading our stuff in a 24 ft. moving truck. If anything makes our move real, it was this!
That night we attend our third Kennedy and Coe Christmas Party. This year’s theme was a Masquerade Ball & it was so much fun, as always.
We had an early morning & long day on Sunday, driving the 24 footer all the way to Fort Collins, with Bill (our Prius) following behind. It took us 10 hours. Luckily my dad made the trip with us, so we had good company & help. 
Look who we saw on the drive!
On Monday night, after a day at the office for me & unloading for the guys, we made it to downtown Fort Collins for some yummy Mexican food & strong margs at The Rio. Isn’t FC gorgeous at Christmas time?
On Tuesday we left at 6 am sharp to head back to Wichita.
I plan events for a living & my last one for the year began yesterday & ends today at 3 p.m. Hallelujah! This year I’ve planned (from scratch) 13 events and assisted with our All Employee Event (200 people!).
 Keep in mind that this is in addition to coordinating @ 24 trade shows & attending @ 24 events that my company sponsors  like the Girl Scouts’ Cocktails & Cookies or Catholic Charities Cruise Night. Not to mention all of the additional networking events that I attend throughout the year. 
So it’s safe to say that I am ready for a break from events.   
We have a fun little coffee date w/a friend at Cafe Moderne (famous for their gelato, but everything there is just as good) & I’m meeting my girlfriend, Chelsey at Kanai for sushi later tonight. 
BTW, if you’re a sushi lover in Wichita & haven’t been to Kanai, you haven’t really lived.
One more fun fact for today – Cory has 10 shifts left at QuikTrip, the company he has been with for almost nine years.

We’re really doing this, kids!!!

2 thoughts on “20 Days

Leave a Reply

