So About This 1/2 Marathon

Last Saturday, on the first day of fall, I got my butt out of bed & ran 10.5 miles. Solo. And it felt GOOD.
Well, to be more accurate, the first 6 miles felt good & the last 4.5 felt like hell. But I have a feeling that has something to do with the fact that I am slacking on my weekly training (again). I find it so hard to fit in a short run three times a week.
This could be due to the fact that I only like to run when it’s under 80 degrees & lately that has only been happening in the morning, which would mean that I would actually have to get out of bed when I planned to, in order to make my run happen.

Note to Self:

Or it could be due to the fact that I’m over running on treadmills – I’ve become an outdoor running lover.
It also could be due to the fact that I’ve been training since the beginning of June, which will make 20 weeks total by the time the 1/2 rolls around (in LESS THAN THREE WEEKS). 16 or even 12 weeks would have been sufficient.
But for some reason, I have very little problem getting the long runs in. I think I love running.

As we were gearing up for our long run last Saturday, Kevin, one of the owners of Go Run, mentioned that this 1/2 marathon should be the beginning of our running, not the end. And while I’m looking forward to a little break from the training plan, I do believe that running has become a part of my lifestyle.
The 6:30 a.m. Saturday long runs that I used to dread waking up for? I now look forward to those. Nothing feels better than getting a run in to start my day.
And doing my first solo long run gave me the confidence I needed to know that I can cross that finish line after running 13.1 w/some amazing friends, and of course, my sweet husband, by my side.

Here we are before a 4 mile run at Sedgwick County Park a couple of weeks ago.

So I’m going to promise myself (again) to stick to the running schedule diligently for the next three weeks until the big day is here. So far, I’m off to a good start.
Now I’m off…to run. For real this time.
One thought on “So About This 1/2 Marathon

Leave a Reply

