15k – 5 Weeks Til the 1/2!

Ever since our gorgeous run last weekend, I’ve been looking forward to tackling 9.3 this weekend. And then last night I started getting a little nervous.
When I woke up this morning my stomach was a little queazy & I was pushing doubts out of my mind. Could I really do 9.3 miles? I mean, at the beginning of June two miles was pushing it for me.
But I choked down my Luna bar, packed my GU (well, I went with the same version I used last week, so whatever that was) & headed off to Tanganyika w/my husband in tow.
We got there about 5 minutes before the race started, which worked well for me – no extra time to let my nerves get worked up even more, and luckily we were able to chat with my sweet friend, Aram, before we got going. Before I knew it we were off.
The first couple of miles were easy, my shins hurt a bit, but nothing I couldn’t handle. While running seven last week, the first three miles were the hardest, so I was a bit surprised that the first three were going so easy.
And right around that time, we got a little surprise…
Our family was there to cheer us on!
When we hit the turn around point around mile 4.5 I started to feel a bit weak, so I took my GU at mile five, which was about 55 minutes into the race.
That + a water station + my family (and as always, my husband) kept me going for a couple of miles, but somewhere in mile six my legs, feet & hips starting hurting bad.
When we crossed mile seven we were in what we like to call “foreign territory.”  And although the last, new 2.3 miles were hard, we pushed through the pain. When we saw this, it was all worth it!
Here we are after the race:
And this is where we went after that:
YUM.
And this is basically what I’ve been doing since:

Here are some of  the songs from my playlist that kept me going today:
Train – Drive By
Calvin Harris – Feel So Close
OneRepublic – Good Life
Fiest – I Feel It All
The Downtown Fiction – I Just Wanna Run
Young the Giant – My Body
Coldplay – Paradise
Kelly Clarkson – Stronger
Flo Rida – Wild Ones
Lady Gaga – Edge of Glory
Rhianna – We Found Love
Franz Ferdinand – Take Me Out
Mumford & Sons – Little Lion Man
The Cataracs – Bass Down Low
The Outsiders – Something Beautiful
Taylor Swift – Love Story
Flo Rida – Whistle
Eminem – Love the Way You Lie
Check back next week to see how my first ever double digit run goes – 10 miles – that is crazy!
Leave a Reply

