Lent Report (Gossip)

Well…tonight I am writing to you humbled as I report that I, Audra Dinell, gossiped during lent. I ate fried foods too (and not just on Sundays). I FAILED at this attempt.
A couple of you told me that this would be hard. Many of you voiced your concerns about wanting to cut gossip out of your own life too, like I was trying to do. And many, many of you smiled & wished me luck – knowing that this task was close to impossible.
Hey – even my girl, Bethany Frankel is got in on this action (maybe she saw my blog?). : ) Read her Glamour article here.
So here’s what I learned.
1. Intentions are everything.

 Let’s be honest: There are people in this world that we don’t exactly click with. Maybe we flat out do not like these people. If this is the case, I vote we should just not comment about these individuals because our comments are not going to be coming from a place of love.

Plus, who wants to waste precious time talking about people we don’t even like?

2. The above mentioned lesson is easier said than done.
Therefore, I plan to revert to the following chart when questioning whether or not to say something, especially in group settings:

Thanks to my friend from Junior League, Ashley, who brought this chart to my attention.
3. We are all human.
Life is going to be lived & discussed. And that’s that. Passing along information or feelings is not a bad thing, if we are doing it in a way that is truthful & honest. And when we are speaking to those who are closest to us in life, it’s okay to have more in depth conversations about people or situations that help work out how we’re feeling.
One of my favorite people to discuss life with, Alex.
P.S. My final conclusion on this topic is that celebrity gossip does not count as gossip. : )
The End.
Leave a Reply

